ManiaExchange
  • SpecialStr
  •  Search tracks for ""
  •  Search tracks built by ""
  •  Search mappacks for ""
  •  Search mappacks created by ""
  •  Search users named ""
Location: Home  Community Forums  Announcements  Regarding maps and replays and the move to ManiaPlanet 4 
Regarding maps and replays and the move to ManiaPlanet 4
Page: 6 of 7 Post Reply
17 May 2017 09:25:46  
I would not like to look for errors only . I have been fully active in trackmania since 2005 , but this is the first version of the game where the vibration of the gamepad works without problems(y) keep it up:d
G-kart Racer
Location: CZ
17 May 2017 16:10:48  
Finally, I've solved the problem with my Fracture track.
The shadows I recompute without opening the track in the editor (using CMD)
The wrong name was corrected by the hexaiditor (Neo)
UID not changed, Update successful:d
G-kart Racer
Location: CZ
19 May 2017 07:59:20  
Please do not update this track: https://tm.mania-exchange.com/tracks/21831/imperium
Some PF-bulldozing has to be done first. :@
------------------------------------------------

The leads me to this question: Is it really useful to update all tracks?
I remember the physics-change in TM1: it was a bit frustrating to download old maps, because many were not working.
But I guess it is impossible to find out which tracks are not working anymore. (Maybe PF-tracks should be left out.)
I'm a bit afraid we end with a "dirty" database. But when the ratio of working/not working tracks in general, is like mine
(8 out of 9 are playable), this won't be a big problem.
:d
Beetle Racer
Location: DE
19 May 2017 12:23:36  
Hello Hans! I tested now to drive your PF track in the original version and then with recomputed a shadows. Your track can no longer be ride. I think this is not due to the new calculation of shadows , but here's comms a new physics . Mp4 update is too in_sensitive to old tracks . It's also uncomfortable for me :(
G-kart Racer
Location: CZ
19 May 2017 13:07:18  
Hi Olda_X! Seems like we have to rebuild some stuff. I'm already working on my only PF-Part (Imperium).
I'll leave Tickle The Chicken untouched, because the raceline is still working fine (like on most of my tracks).
Too bad, that all pure PF-tracks are useless now. :'(
Nadeo keeps us busy... ;)
Beetle Racer
Location: DE
19 May 2017 14:43:58  
Might be useful to post this here on the topic of rebuilding MP3 tracks.

In Stadium, the white connective poles/bars thingys now at 8-4-x can be problematic if they were part of the scenery below or mixed into platform blocks. Previously the top of these blocks didn't reach the drivable surface (just left ugly graphical glitches), now the top cm or so peaks above the driving surface making it easy to get caught up on them.

Example "Morning Dust" by little_mungi


If you know you used to mix them into platform blocks, re-check your tracks and rebuild if necessary.
Last edited by Racho, 19 May 2017 15:18:43
Crew Support
19 May 2017 16:55:24  
I've found several bugs in the mediatracker, In the outro some switches disappeared and the camera does not follows my car. Some cameras errs . There is no description for own music , A question marks are displayed only. I'm very sorry that intro is not displayed:( Know someone why ? ... There are a few minor bugs, but I will not deal with them anymore. It is not so important ...
G-kart Racer
Location: CZ
20 May 2017 06:08:42  
Hans Holo says:
Please do not update this track: https://tm.mania-exchange.com/tracks/21831/imperium
Some PF-bulldozing has to be done first. :@

I've added you to the list of authors whose maps we won't update. Looks like all your maps are up to date anyway, except that one.

Hans Holo says:
The leads me to this question: Is it really useful to update all tracks?

I think it's useful. The way I look at it is that the maps are broken anyway.... so if the update doesn't fully fix them, at least they have a better chance than if we never converted them in the first place.

Hans Holo says:
I remember the physics-change in TM1: it was a bit frustrating to download old maps, because many were not working.

I too remember playing PF maps from TMO, Sunrise, and early United in the Forever update and being sad that they no longer worked. Or even some PF starts got broken, which was too bad. It probably discouraged a lot of builders from even building PF starts over the years. I know it's discouraged me from doing so. That, and the fact I think they're kinda boring when trying to hunt a time since they're quite repetitive. :p But that's a personal preference.

Thankfully we had replays though for those old maps, and we still have replays for these pure PF maps today. So for instance, the map can be updated to MP4, and a new replay saved on the map (even an incomplete one). Then the working ghost from a pre-MP4 replay can be imported to that new replay to see the map with updated graphics.

Hans Holo says:
But I guess it is impossible to find out which tracks are not working anymore. (Maybe PF-tracks should be left out.)

I can understand the apprehension to update PF tracks, but except for the few people who may reinstall ManiaPlanet 3, there's no real reason to keep the maps in an old version of the game. I think it's best to bring them with us. They stand the best chance of being used that way. And if worse comes to worse, we are keeping backups of all the maps we update. So they can always be reverted if necessary (though it does take a bit of work for me to hunt down the backup).

Hans Holo says:
I'm a bit afraid we end with a "dirty" database. But when the ratio of working/not working tracks in general, is like mine
(8 out of 9 are playable), this won't be a big problem.
:d

It's kind of a no-win situation. No matter what we do, there will be broken maps. So we opt for the choice that gives us the best chance. :) I'm glad so many of yours converted successfully and are playable.
Coordinator
Location: US
20 May 2017 13:53:32  
Thx for responding to my stream of consciousness, eyebo.
...everything you say sounds all right to me.
;)
Beetle Racer
Location: DE
21 May 2017 07:50:39  
Mortex -745- says:
After today's update, editor invalidates every map open in it.:@


Yes it is true. After this update, each map appears as non validated. This makes impossible to update a track using the editor. I've updated my tracks primary with a command line, but today I needed to update one of my track with allowed blockmix in editor , because standard commandline makes a mistakes. But it's not possible in the editor. Here exist a trick how to validate a map with hexaeditor (validable 1 or 0 ) but the ManiaPlanet editor disables calculated the shadows Until the track not tested by ride...
Last edited by OLDA_X, 21 May 2017 07:51:53
G-kart Racer
Location: CZ
Page: 6 of 7 Post Reply
© ManiaExchange (mania-exchange.com, mania.exchange) 2019. • Terms and ConditionsPrivacy PolicyTop  •  Report a Problem