Location: Home  Community Forums  The Off Topic Pit of Oblivion  Studying in the US. 
Studying in the US.
Page: 1 of 2
Post Reply  0 Observer
Studying in the US.  
Hello guys,

Yes, I'm one of the thousands of people with the dream of spending one or more years studying in the United States :-)

I'm only in a very, very early state of research at the moment. I'm just browsing the net, looking for people who are sharing experiences, looking for information about various university aspects, like the quality of education, choice in study, tuition fees etc. I'm a bit lost though and I was wondering if any of you Americans (or any nationality for that matter) could offer me some help.

A little about me and my school career. I'm currently in my final year of the Dutch equivelant of high school (years 12 - 18), VWO level (won't mean that much to non-Dutch people) My grades are pretty good. They could be way better, but I've been lacking motivation since about a year. My best subject (which I also find the most interesting) is English. I'm entering my exams with an 8.9 (which is an A+, according to this) and planning to raise that this year. I also excell in subjects like French, Arts History and Geography. I hate and suck at exact subjects like Math. (I'm sharing this information in regard to scholarships/exchange programs; tuiton, next to everyday expenses seriously adds up :o)

I'm 18 at the moment, 19 when I'll graduate this schoolyear. I'll take one year off after school to 1) work full-time to start saving up and 2) to get more oriented as to the what, where, how and when regarding my year abroad. If you can't tell by now, I'm quite serious about this idea, but do want to be as prepared as I can be.

So, you know, every single piece of information is more than welcome, whether it's about university information, cultural differences in and around America(n universities), legal information (e.g. visum) or any other aspect you could think of.

Kind regards,

Arno :)